Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews
December 17, 2017
Reviews
Video Review:Godin Richmond Belmont PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 12 January 2010 23:27
Today we have a video review of a very unique guitar, the Godin Richmond Belmont, featuring guitarist Ken Volpe.
 

 
Video Review:Collings 360 PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 23 November 2009 19:17
Today we are featuring a video of a Collings 360 guitar. This guitar has a wide array of tones and plays extremely well. It is our current giveaway guitar on GuitarJamDaily. Sit back and enjoy this new GJD feature with our own Ken Volpe.
 
Video Review: Wilkins WRS Graphic Series PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 18 September 2009 14:20


Today we are featuring a video of a Wilkins WRS Graphic Series guitar. This guitar has an amazing finish and equally stunning tones.
It was our recent giveaway guitar on GuitarJamDaily.  Sit back and enjoy this new GJD feature with our own Phil Miller playing this beauty.
 
Video Review: Zoom H4N PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 15 September 2009 20:59

Today we are featuring a video of a Zoom H4N recorder. The H4N is a versatile, compact, and great sounding unit.

Sit back and enjoy this new GJD feature with our own Ken Volpe telling you about the features on the H4N and using it to record a guitar track.


 
Video Review: Godin Richmond Dorchester PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 09 September 2009 14:27

Today we are featuring a video of the Godin Richmond Dorchester guitar. The Richmond Dorchester has a chambered maple body with poplar wings
and utilizes Lace Alumitone humbuckers. Sit back and enjoy this new GJD feature with our own Ken Volpe playing the Godin Richmond Dorchester.
 
Video Review: Trainwreck Rocket Amplifier PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 15 July 2009 02:11
Today we are featuring a video of a Trainwreck Rocket amplifier. The Rocket is one the rarest and most valuable guitar amplifiers ever made. It features a quad of EL84 power tubes. It is the ultimate in clean chime and responsiveness.  The Rocket was plugged into a Bruno 2x12 cab loaded with Celestion Gold speakers.  Sit back and enjoy this new GJD feature with our own Ken Volpe jammin' with the Trainwreck Rocket.

 
Live Review: Brad Paisley - American Saturday Night Tour - Comcast Theatre Hartford, Connecticut: 6/13/09 PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 16 June 2009 10:17
By Ken Volpe – GJD Contributor
One of the great things about Country music is that many of the artists are great singers as well as great guitar players. This seems to be somewhat absent these days in Rock and Pop music. Yes, there are exceptions in the world of Rock and Pop but the ratio still favors those on the Country music scene.  Brad Paisley certainly fits that bill with excellent vocal abilities and blazing guitar parts.
 
This is the third time that I have witnessed a live concert with Brad and his band.  To my ears they seem to be getting even better. The band is fuller and tighter sounding and Mr. Paisley himself has taken it to a higher level.  Another observation on my part was how the engineers really had the sound system dialed in and the video production was a perfect match for the music.
 
From a guitarist's standpoint, you really get to see Brad's versatility and dynamics throughout the night.  He plays a slew of Crook guitars and a wall of amplifiers and speaker cabinets courtesy of Tony Bruno Custom Amps and Dr. Z amplification.  Brad's guitar tones really cut through the mix and blend perfectly with the band.  Another thing that is very cool is how Brad is almost constantly moving around the stage while maintaining his composure with his vocals and his guitar.  That is the mark of a true entertainer.
 
Read more...
 
Video Review: Amplitube Fender PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 12 June 2009 14:29
Today we are featuring a video demo of Amplitube Fender software by IK Multimedia.  GJD's Ken Volpe utilizes Amplitube Fender as a mixdown plug-in on both a guitar and a bass track. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ai4K5ekghyQ
 
CD Review: Moving Forward by Bernie Williams PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 28 May 2009 09:23
By Ken Volpe – GJD Contributor
Sometimes, we are blessed to experience an individual that possesses greatness in two completely different arenas.  Bernie Williams definitely fits into that rare mold.  His latest release, Moving Forward, showcases Mr. Williams’ talents as a composer and a performer.  In addition, he allows some of the industry’s top session musicians to lend their own creativity and to share in the spotlight, which I believe to be a sign of humility and artistic integrity.

The CD starts with the title cut, “Moving Forward.” It is a feel good tune with great melody lines and masterful guitar layering. Bernie’s steel-string guitar sounds sit wonderfully in the mix. His tone is crisp and warm with a bell like timbre. The track also features an interesting bridge and some amazing percussion. 
Read more...
 
CD Review: High Time by Bill Wilkie PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 11 May 2009 12:34
By Tyler Bothe – GJD Contributor
So as a quasi indie film director is finishing up your quirky yet loveable character piece about two college aged darlings who just don't manage to fit into any sort of stereo-type, you're thinking to yourself: what musical score am I whittlin' out for this soon to be Sundance wunderkind? Well for all you whom this applies to, the answer might be Bill Wilkie's latest disc "High Time" whose labor is evident enough in the fact that he wrote, performed and engineered all fourteen songs himself.  For the rest of you, grabbin this album is possibly going to give you an edge when you see it attached to that academy award nominated sleeper movie who no one can deny: (imagine knowing the band, The Moldy Peaches before Juno came out). 

Musically the album starts up with what seems like a reluctance towards distortion given the tracks that follow, which is somewhat ironic because it's exactly the subtle overdrive that let's it shine during the pain-stricken heart felt chorus that pushes it from average to memorable. I mean just try getting the chorus line “I can't be quiet no more” out of your head after listening only once.  The opening track also leads into the next tune which comes off as a bit reminiscent of “The Blower's Daughter”, Damien Rice's soft-spoken hit breaking ground on the soundtrack to the 2004 film “Closer”. 
Read more...
 
Video Review: JT35 amplifier by JT Sounds PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 04 May 2009 12:05
Today we are featuring a video of the JT35 amplifier by JT Sounds.. It is an extremely versatile and with some real unique player friendly controls. The JT35 is a Cathode biased that uses a pair of EL34 power tubes. It has a wide range of tones from clean to pretty heavy gain. Sit back and enjoy this new GJD feature with our own Ken Volpe playin' the JT35.

Enjoy!
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 10

ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...