Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews CD Reviews CD Review: David Grissom's '10,000 Feet'
December 15, 2019
CD Review: David Grissom's '10,000 Feet' PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 11 February 2009 14:21
By Ken Volpe - GJD
I’ve been waiting for this CD to come out since the Fall ’08 when David told me that he was in the studio working on it..  As soon as I hit play on my machine, I knew I was in for a treat.  The first song, “Keep a Rollin’ On,” has a great bass track played by David and catchy rhythm guitar parts.  The guitars are layered and panned accordingly to give a wall of sound and at the same time, glue the song together.  Mr. Grissom has become a master of this art.

Then I came across “Squawk,” an instrumental Texas-Style rock & roll tune that may bring to mind the legendary Billy Gibbons.  David’s parts are both gritty and chunky at the same time.  Drummer Chris Layton from SRV fame and Bassist Scott Nelson round out the battery for this tune.

“Take Me Back to Texas,” starts off with a wonderful acoustic guitar courtesy of Collings Guitars.
By the way, last year when I interviewed David he confessed about his growing addiction for Collings Guitars.  On this tune and others, it’s evident why this addiction came about.  This tune is definitely fits the classic country-rock ballad bill.

Throughout the CD a few things are apparent…  David has taken on quite a wide role in terms of playing multiple instruments, covering the vocal chores, and doing all the composition and production.  It gets me exhausted even thinking about that much work. 

The next tune is “Butterbean Friday” which is a slow-blues instrumental.  Tasteful and hooky guitar parts abound.  I love how David let’s his phrases breath so the listener can really absorb them.
 
“Gone and Lonesome,” is a gutsy tune with some chord cool changes that caught my ear.  I really enjoyed the vocals on this track.  And so far, its one of my favorite tunes.

I also really loved “Dover Soul.”  It’s a medium funk rock tune that has some hints of Storyville.  Mr. Grissom once again comes through with some of his signature licks over a great groove.  I really love the intensity of this tune as well.

10,000 Feet also contains a handful of tunes that feature acoustic guitar and vocals.  Along with Chris and Scott, other featured artists on this project are the great Kenny Aronoff on drums, Michael Ramos on keys, and Warren Hood on fiddle.  David definitely knows how to gather and utilize some of the industry’s best talent. 

David is widely known for being a true tone hound and his signature PRS DGT model sounds better then ever on this project. I give David props for reinventing himself once again and dare I say bringing out more pop influence.  In my opinion, David Grissom is the ultimate “UnGuitar Hero.”  What do I mean by that?  He doesn’t rely on non-musical shredding, or making it all about his guitar playing.  As with any true musical artist, the songs and the overall musicianship are primary.  His playing is always creative, soulful, and flat out sounds great.

 
ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...