Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews Live Reviews Live Review: Ace Frehley at the House of Blues, Hollywood, 3.25.08
December 10, 2019
Live Review: Ace Frehley at the House of Blues, Hollywood, 3.25.08 PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 06 April 2008 18:35
ace013.jpgBy Ronny North - GJD Contributor
When I heard that Ace Frehley was doing a tour this year, I was really psyched. My connection to Ace began at the age of fourteen when I received KISS's Destroyer record for Christmas. That spring my father took my brother and I to see our first concert in 1977. It was KISS on their Love Gun tour at the peak of their fame. After seeing the band live in action, Ace became my first guitar hero and KISS became my favorite band. I decided to start playing guitar, and I wanted to play like I Ace in the worst way. He is really the reason I play guitar today.

Heading into the show at the Hollywood HOB, I didn’t know what to expect since he hadn’t toured solo in years. I have seen Ace play live in KISS several times over the years, but for whatever reason I have never seen his solo tours.

When we arrived at the House of Blues for the show, there was a great crowd in attendance. I decided to watch the show from behind the soundboard so I could see and hear everything perfectly. Soon the house lights went out and intro music came on with a cool women’s voice doing a count down from the smoke filled neon lit stage and then some lasers started going off. It all looked great. Then Ace hit the stage with his band and his trade mark Cherry Sunburst 3 pickup Gibson Les Paul in his hands and dove into his song “Rip it Out”.

From the start, you could tell that Ace was playing and singing in great form and his band was tight. Throughout the evening they played all Ace’s hits from his solo records and some KISS classics as well. Some of the songs they performed were "Shock Me", "Fractured Mirror", "2000 Man", "Rocket Ride", "New York Groove" (where he played his light up guitar), and many more.
ace027.jpg
Being a guitarist myself, I was curious to see how Ace's playing was these days. He’s probably playing better than I have seen him play in years and really does have a unique signature guitar style. Ace was playing all of his classic solos perfect and had that great classic "Ace tone" and was obviously having a great time on stage and seemed very relaxed and chatted with the very appreciative crowd throughout the show. As you would expect, Ace did his patented extended guitar solo with his guitar catching on fire, and needless to say, it brought the house down. The place was packed and the crowd was with him the entire show.

Ace’s band on this tour consisted of Scot Cogan on Drums and vocals, Anthony Esposito on Bass and Vocals, and Derrek Hawkins on Rhythm guitar and backing vocals. Both Anthony and Scot, took turns singing lead on some of the classic KISS songs and being a major KISS fanatic myself, I can honestly say that the KISS songs sounded better than I’ve ever heard KISS do them in recent years. Some of the KISS songs the band performed were "Parasite", "Cold Gin", "Love Gun" to name a few. During the show, it made me realize how many great songs and classic riffs that Ace has come up with over the years. He really is one of the legendary guitar greats - and if you get a chance you definitely have to catch him on his current tour.

When I got home from the show I was very inspired. The first thing I did was pick up my Les Paul and started playing ‘Rocket Ride”. Isn’t that what it’s all about????
 
ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...