Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews Live Reviews Live Review: Brad Paisley - American Saturday Night Tour - Comcast Theatre Hartford, Connecticut: 6/13/09
October 17, 2017
Live Review: Brad Paisley - American Saturday Night Tour - Comcast Theatre Hartford, Connecticut: 6/13/09 PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 16 June 2009 10:17
By Ken Volpe – GJD Contributor
One of the great things about Country music is that many of the artists are great singers as well as great guitar players. This seems to be somewhat absent these days in Rock and Pop music. Yes, there are exceptions in the world of Rock and Pop but the ratio still favors those on the Country music scene.  Brad Paisley certainly fits that bill with excellent vocal abilities and blazing guitar parts.
 
This is the third time that I have witnessed a live concert with Brad and his band.  To my ears they seem to be getting even better. The band is fuller and tighter sounding and Mr. Paisley himself has taken it to a higher level.  Another observation on my part was how the engineers really had the sound system dialed in and the video production was a perfect match for the music.
 
From a guitarist's standpoint, you really get to see Brad's versatility and dynamics throughout the night.  He plays a slew of Crook guitars and a wall of amplifiers and speaker cabinets courtesy of Tony Bruno Custom Amps and Dr. Z amplification.  Brad's guitar tones really cut through the mix and blend perfectly with the band.  Another thing that is very cool is how Brad is almost constantly moving around the stage while maintaining his composure with his vocals and his guitar.  That is the mark of a true entertainer.
 
The entire show was comprised of about 20 tunes.  From what I recall the band cranked out about 5 or 6 cuts from his newest release coming out at the end of this month.  I must say, his compositions seem to evolve with every CD and there is hardly a hint of repetition or stagnation. As the concert progressed, one thing that I noticed was an apparent ebb and flow in the song choices which helped me to retain my interest and made it that much more enjoyable. His newly expanded band really seemed focused and each member seemed to be having a blast.
 
Allow me to get specific about some of my favorite songs of the evening.  Early on the band played the title cut from his upcoming release American Saturday Night. The tune was full of energy and I bet that it will be a big hit for Brad.  A bit further along Brad and his boys did an amazing version of Waiting on a Woman.  His vocals were so strong and his guitar sounds were to die for.  Soon after they played a great version of one of my favorites, Catch All the Fish.  I especially loved the video and the humor that goes along with that song. Towards the end of the night the band busted out 2 BP classics, Ticks and Alcohol.  For their final encore they covered Boys of Summer with an awesome extended jam at the end.
 
My friends Christy and Britt and I thoroughly enjoyed the show.  Afterwards we went back stage to say Hi to Brad and the band.  I must tell you that Brad and his entire crew are some of the nicest and most down-to-earth folks you will ever meet.  I was also struck once again about how much Brad cares about his fans.  He really gives them what they want and at the same time does what he was born to do.  His appeal is very authentic and I believe that is why his fans relate to his music.  It is no surprise that Mr. Paisley's success continues to grow.

Do yourself a favor; go get yourself some tickets to the next Brad Paisley Concert… You’ll have yourself a good ole’ time.

 
ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...