Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews Live Reviews Live Review: Prince Breaks Out The Big Stick at The Super Bowl
September 30, 2020
Live Review: Prince Breaks Out The Big Stick at The Super Bowl PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 27 February 2007 20:20
By Nick Friese
Ever since Prince’s performance last year on Saturday Night Live and at the Super Bowl on Sunday, my ears have opened up to his guitar playing. Prior to these gigs, I never studied his playing closely or gave much reverence to his guitar work. But now that’s all changed, and Prince has certainly hit my hi-def hero screen with his latest “guitar forward” performances.

I’m sure many of you are saying: “Come on! How could you miss this guy’s guitar skills over the past twenty or so years? Are you tone deaf? He’s been ripping it for decades!” O.k. for those who are yelling epithets into your computer screens now, relax and take a deep breath. I recall having a similar conversation with one of my guitar teachers a few years ago about Prince’s playing and he was huffing and puffing too.

Hey teach, now you can say, “I told you so!”

Maybe I’m a late bloomer? Who knows? It’s possible that one day I’ll even develop an ear for Jeff Beck’s guitar playing. But right now I think I’m the only GJD reader who agrees with Larry’s Whammy Bar column a few months ago on Beck. Boy that Whammy column was a lightning rod! As I digress…

It has not slipped my purview that many of today’s top musicians attend Prince’s shows every chance they get and are quoted as “blown away” by his musical abilities.

Did I overlook Prince’s subtle skills on his albums back in the day? Have I heard stories from friends and mentors how he's ignited guitar “Eruptions” at his live shows? Sure I have. But I have to say that I wasn’t living under a rock either. Over the years (imho), Prince has been hiding his guitar chops under too much synth, drum machines, dancing, image, purple, lace, and other distractions - all of which never really allowed the guitar tones to cut through.

6But now Prince has grabbed my attention with his Hendrixian guitar performances on SNL (video taken down from YouTube) last February and at this year’s Super Bowl. He’s awoken to a new day where the guitar has become a vessel and is a centerpiece in his performances - here’s a look at his playing at the Super Bowl.

Call it a Prince “rebrand,” an awakening, or whatever you'd like to tag it, the simple truth is that Prince has certified guitar chops and is showing the “love” to his Tele, Strat, and Cloud guitars. And he's waiving them around like a big sticks that they are.

 
ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...