Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews Live Reviews Live Review: Mike Landau with The Jazz Ministry at The Baked Potato
February 20, 2020
Live Review: Mike Landau with The Jazz Ministry at The Baked Potato PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 27 February 2007 20:23

By This e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
I have been a huge Mike Landau fan since 1992. Being an East Coast guy, I have never had the chance to see him play in a club setting. After a long day at NAMM followed by dinner, my Guitar Jam Daily partner, Nick Friese, and I drove an hour to catch the 11:30pm show at The Baked Potato in North Hollywood.

The show was billed as “The Jazz Ministry.” The band was Abe Laboriel on bass, Abe Laboriel Jr. on drums, Greg Mathieson on keyboard and, of course, Mr. Landau on guitar. The show consisted of a handful of tunes, each featuring extended jams with all four artists.

In the middle of the show the band took a short break to allow Abe Sr. to minister to the crowd about gratitude, a Godly perspective and a heartfelt appreciation for the audience. I have had the privilege to hang out with Abe Sr. in the past and I must say that he is truly a holy man filled with God’s spirit both in his music and in his being. He is one of life’s true rare gems.

As the show progressed, I got the sense that we were all in the presence of true greatness. All four musicians seemed to be totally in the zone with an indescribable synergy.

Mike’s playing was very dynamic, versatile and pretty much perfect. Even though he has extraordinary ability with his hands, he only displayed his chops when the tune or emotion called for it. Musically, he seems to always be in the right place at the right time with the right notes or the right space. Mike used one of his prized Fender Strats and a Gibson SG. He used a Custom Audio Electronics amp with a host of pedals and a Lexicon digital reverb. His guitar tones ranged from smooth to sweet to raging with countless textures in between. Another amazing thing about his tone, is that even though I was only five feet away and he was turned up pretty loud, I never cringed from loudness, harshness, or ill sonic artifacts.

The band’s grooves were all top shelf courtesy of Abe Jr. In addition, his interaction, fills, and solos were jaw dropping. The guy is so loose when he plays that is it as much fun to watch him play, as it is to listen to him.

Abe Sr. did a handful of solos that covered a range of techniques, and built up in awesome intensity. When he gets going, his entire body becomes a rhythmic display in it’s own right. In all his bouncing around and movement, his bass headstock never makes contact with any nearby band mates or up close audience members. You have to see it to believe it.

Greg Mathison’s organ and keyboard parts were perfect layers of sound for the other 3 players. And when it was time for Greg to solo, you were left speechless.

On the final song, Abe Sr. and Abe Jr. pulled off this musical interaction that could only happen between a father and son. Nick and I, and a few other guys that I spoke with all agreed that we had not seen interaction like that very much in our lives.

I felt truly blessed to experience The Jazz Ministry. After the show, I got a few hugs from Abe Sr., and he introduced me to Mike. He was extremely gracious and agreed to do an upcoming interview with me for Guitar Jam Daily. In addition, he is sending one of our staff his latest Live CD for us to review.

In my humble opinion, I believe that Mike Landau is without a doubt one of the best living electric guitarists on the planet.

 
ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...