Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews Effects Gear Review: Line 6 Pocket Pod
December 9, 2019
Gear Review: Line 6 Pocket Pod PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 28 November 2007 14:22
By Ken Volpe - Guitar Jam Daily
Now that I have had a chance to spend a few weeks with the new Line 6 Pocket Pod I can safely say that it is an awesome little device. For those of you who don't know what it is, the Pocket Pod is a guitar amp simulator that can be used in a variety of ways. It is an alternative way of producing guitar tones as compared to the traditional way of a guitar and amp set-up.

pocketpod.jpg

In a live setting you can simply plug your guitar into the Pocket Pod and then plug the output of the Pocket Pod into the house PA system. At that point, your guitar tones will come through the main speakers and through the PA monitoring system. Another more common use for the Pocket Pod is to use it as a recording tool. Once again you would plug your guitar into the Pocket Pod and then plug the output of the Pocket Pod into the preamp of your recording system. A third scenario is to plug your guitar into the Pocket Pod and monitor it with headphones. I first started out by using the Pod with the third scenario that I just described. I plugged in my Gibson Les Paul and listened on a pair of Sennheiser HD 580 headphones. Using the headphone method is the easiest way to get acquainted with all the internal sounds since you won't have to worry about recording levels or PA system levels.

pocketpodins.jpg

There are a variety of ways to browse through the 300 plus presets. At first I felt that this was not very straightforward and a bit confusing; but once I got going it was a breeze. The Pocket Pod also has four good-sized knobs to adjust overall channel volume, drive, EQ, and effects. All those features and functions are very "tweakable." The unit also has a built-in tuner, tap tempo feature for delay, and an easy save feature. The save feature allows you to save your own custom made presets. The Pocket Pod also has USB connectivity for use with a computer and updates.

Let's talk about some of my favorite sounds. For the ultimate in clean headroom I loved the preset "squash" which is a clean compressed sound with a room reverb. I also liked "springy" which is a straight clean tone with you guessed it, spring reverb. For spacey type tones, I really enjoyed using the "quarters" preset as well as "malibu." For searing lead tones I really loved a preset called "modern hi gain." This preset also worked really well for a lead guitar track that I needed to record for a client.

From a tonal standpoint, I'd say the best thing about the Pocket Pod is the amount of choices that it gives you. It contains just about any tone that you could imagine. In my mind, the only real negative is that this device or other devices like it will never replace the tone from a real amp. However, it is way more convenient, especially in a recording situation.

In closing I must admit that this little device is quite amazing. It's the size of a small video game controller and the display screen is very clear and easy to read. It weighs a lot less than my left sneaker and has a ton of really useful sounds. The only 2 things that I still wish it had were an on-off switch and a battery life indicator. At a street price of $130, I can't see why any guitarist whether professional or amateur, would not want to own one of these.

Click here for more information on the Pocket Pod.
 
ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...