Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews
August 18, 2017
Reviews
Video Review: Taylor T5 Electric Acoustic Guitar PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 29 April 2009 11:09
 
CD review: Carl Verheyen Band - Trading 8s PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 24 April 2009 10:22
By Ken Volpe - GJD

Every once in a while an artist has an opportunity and a privilege to work with many of his peers on a project.  Such is the case on the latest release from the Carl Verheyen Band, Trading 8s.  One could only imagine the joy and creative fun that Carl must have had in making this CD.  Actually in the linear notes Carl states, “I sincerely hope you enjoy this music as much as we did making it.” 

I’ve gotten to know Carl over the past couple of years through his audio interviews and columns with GuitarJamDaily.com.  I have always been blessed by his music and who he is as a human being.  So when Carl told me that he was working on a new project I was really excited about the news.

The CD starts out with a track named, Highway 27. This features Carl and Joe Bonamassa playing intricate melody lines and trading runs with the utmost fury.  Both of these guys possess sweet liquid guitar tones.  The song kind of reminded me of a Jeff Beck meets Steve Morse type thing.  It’s kind of funny because Steve Morse happens to appear on this project as well, playing on a tune entitled, On Our Way.  This track can best be described as a beautiful bluesy ballad with some rich musical textures. I really dug the Steve Morse signature modal pattern runs.

Another tune that caught my ear is a Carl’s version of the old Beatles song TaxMan. The arrangement and production are exceptional on this one.  There is an interesting contrast of styles between Carl and Fusion master Scott Henderson.  This track contains some of my favorite intense guitar ripping from Carl.  A little further along is the cut, New Year’s Day.  This one has a great groove with tasteful ideas from Mr. Verheyen and Blues tone wizard Robben Ford.  There is some serious tone flying out of the speakers from both of these guys.  Ford fans will really love this one because it has some hints from his old school playing.  Also on the CD is a track named, Country Girl.  This song contains great vocals by Carl and a really tight rhythm section. The infamous Albert Lee injects his tone and fast country-style runs in a way that only he could do. 

There are a few other tunes on Trading 8s that do not feature any of the guest artists. So, Carl and his band including, Dave Marotta on bass, and Walfredo Reyes Jr. on drums are really showcased.  Actually, from a compositional standpoint and for overall production value these tunes were my favorites, especially Eastern Steppes. 

Trading 8s is a wonderful CD that will appeal to many different guitar fans. Carl’s ability to craft songs and adapt his playing with these many artists is most astounding. Do yourself a favor...if you love great guitar playing go buy this CD.

 
Video Review Part 2: The 3 Monkeys Orangutan Amplifier PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 14 April 2009 01:11
Today we are featuring Part 2 of our video of The 3 Monkeys Orangutan Amplifier. It is a great sounding amp that is extremely versatile without a lot of complex controls. It features a quad of 6V6 power tubes and three 12AX7 preamp tubes. It also has a six position voicing switch and built in reverb. Sit back and enjoy this new GJD feature with our own Phil Miller crankin' up the Orangutan.

Enjoy Phil's Review of The 3 Monkeys Orangutan Amplifier!





 
Video Review: The 3 Monkeys Orangutan Amplifier PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 09 April 2009 10:45
The 3 Monkeys Orangutan Amplifier is featured today. It is a great sounding amp that is extremely versatile without a lot of complex controls. It features a quad of 6V6 power tubes and three 12AX7 preamp tubes. It also has a six position voicing switch and built in reverb. Sit back and enjoy this new GJD feature with our own Phil Miller crankin' up the Orangutan.

Enjoy Phil Miller's video review!







 
Gear Review: Zoom G2G - George Lynch Signature Pedal PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 07 April 2009 10:06
By Laura Valk – GJD Contributor
George Lynch continues to prove why he has been rocking the music world for the past 3 decades with the introduction of his Zoom G2G - George Lynch Signature Pedal. Right out of the box I could tell that this multi-function pedal means business.  Its multitude of deep distortion patches confirmed my initial reaction.  One of the main things that satisfied me is the versatility of sounds and simplicity of use that exists within this one box. 

The pedal offers many patches created by “Mr. Scary” himself.  The only possible drawback for some users might be that the vast majority of patches are dedicated to distortion and high gain. Hence, I myself was looking for a few more clean patches to work from.  Then again, the target audience, which are obviously fans of George’s music, are going to be expecting those “seek-and-destroy” heavy tones.

Of the many preset patches I found, most of the distortion ones are very deep in their tone.  These tones are great at emulating a high-powered amp rather than sounding like a cheap pedal as other products have fallen prey to. Then if Lynch’s 40 patches weren’t enough, the pedal offers you 40 user patches to store your own customized sounds.
Read more...
 
Video Review: The Collings 290 Electric Guitar PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 09 March 2009 01:39
The Collings 290 Electric Guitar is featured today. It is an amazing instrument from one of America's leading high end guitar builders. The 290 features a solid Mahogany body, a Mahogany neck, and a Rosewood fretboard. It is wired with Jason Lollar P90 pickups. This model also comes standard with a Tone-Pro bridge and tailpiece. Sit back and enjoy this new GJD feature with our own Phil Miller jammin' on the Collings 290.








-Solid mahogany body
-High gloss lacquer finish
-Custom P90-style pickups by Jason Lollar
-Tone-Pro bridge and tailpiece
-Black or amber top hat volume/tone knobs
-22-fret unbound mahogany neck
-East Indian rosewood fingerboard
-24 7/8" Scale Length
-Grained ivoroid dot fingerboard inlays
-Unbound peghead with ebony veneer
-Mother-of-pearl Collings logo
-Sperzel vintage tuners with ivoroid buttons
-Deluxe hardshell case


Available Options:
Pearloid pickguard & truss rod cover
Pearloid pickguard & peghead veneer Finish Choices:
Tobacco Sunburst
Crimson
Orange
TV Yellow
Jet Black
Black w/ White Grainfill
 
Video Review: PRS DGT Model PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 27 February 2009 04:29
The DGT guitar from PRS guitars is one of their most popular signature models. The DGT is the result of more than 20 years of collaboration between Paul Smith and David Grissom. The DGT is based on the McCarty Trem with special pickups, special wiring, a neck smaller than PRS’ wide-fat neck, bigger frets and heavy gauge strings that permit beautiful rhythm and solo tone. It features a Mahogany body with a Maple top. The neck is Mahogany with a Rosewood Fretboard. Sit back and enjoy this new GJD feature with our own Phil Miller rockin' the PRS DGT Model.


 
Video Review: PRS Mira Electric Guitar PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 24 February 2009 15:43
The Mira is a guitar for today’s players with a classic feel and tone but with the quality and stability you’ve come to expect from a PRS instrument. This model features a thinner, solid mahogany body, 24-fret neck, matching pickguard and trussrod cover, Mira pickups, three-way pickup selector and a mini toggle coil tap. This combination of features lends a new voice to the PRS lineup. Sit back and enjoy this new GuitarJamDaily feature with our own Phil Miller rockin' the PRS Mira.
Read more...
 
Gear Review: ZOOM G1J - John 5 Signature Pedal PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 19 February 2009 15:06

By Laura Valk  - GJD Contributor 

The G1J is based on Zoom’s immensely popular G1 effects pedal and features 32-bit processing and 96 kHz sampling with a built-in drum machine. Designed with sounds to inspire and plenty of room for your own creativity, this new signature pedal combines the style and feel of a rock prodigy with the effects expertise of Zoom.  Guitarist John 5 has compiled one of the most impressive resumes in rock. One of the earlier highlights of John 5’s career was the gig with Marilyn Mason.  In addition to his own solo work, his commanding riffs combined with his composition skills have most recently earned him a coveted spot playing with rock icon Rob Zombie.

When I first unpacked the Zoom G1J John 5 Signature Pedal I’d say it took me about a few seconds to plug in and start getting some sounds going.  You’ve gotta love that… But after I really dug into this pedal, I hit a bit of a wall.  It took me a little while to dissect the instruction manual and get a better grasp.  Don’t get me wrong, the pedal is jam-packed with interesting features, it’s just that one tiny LED screen and two tiny knobs might not be enough to act as controllers for all of the options.  I already found myself a bit frustrated with the pedal’s refusal to be 100% user-friendly.
Read more...
 
Gear Review: V-Picks PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 17 February 2009 15:45
By Ken Volpe - GJD
One of the biggest struggles for a guitarist is their relationship with their pick.  But on the contrary, that reminds me of a joke.  There is a girl for every guy but a guitarist has his pick. (If you don’t get that joke, you're probably not a very good guitarist.  LOL.  So much for my attempt at humor.)

This constant pick wrangling is about learning how to use a pick effectively, how to hold the pick, what type of pick to use, and so on…  For some players this potential conflict continues throughout their playing career. So allow me to introduce the V-Pick and to discuss some of the challenges of picking in general.
Read more...
 
CD Review: David Grissom's '10,000 Feet' PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 11 February 2009 14:21
By Ken Volpe - GJD
I’ve been waiting for this CD to come out since the Fall ’08 when David told me that he was in the studio working on it..  As soon as I hit play on my machine, I knew I was in for a treat.  The first song, “Keep a Rollin’ On,” has a great bass track played by David and catchy rhythm guitar parts.  The guitars are layered and panned accordingly to give a wall of sound and at the same time, glue the song together.  Mr. Grissom has become a master of this art.

Then I came across “Squawk,” an instrumental Texas-Style rock & roll tune that may bring to mind the legendary Billy Gibbons.  David’s parts are both gritty and chunky at the same time.  Drummer Chris Layton from SRV fame and Bassist Scott Nelson round out the battery for this tune.
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 10

ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...