Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews
December 16, 2017
Reviews
CD Review: Backyard Tire Fire - The Places We Lived PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 02 September 2008 19:56
By Nick Friese - GJD
Man, I love this CD.  On Track 1, The Places We Lived you can tell right off the bat that the production is very bare bones which fits perfectly for their music. The vocals are very clear allowing you to hear the content of the lyrics. I especially enjoyed the lack of reverb on the lead vocal track. I like their use of chromatic bass notes that give the song a great hook. These guys have major vibe in the songwriting department.

Their music is very refreshing; it is a nice departure from the “Guitar Hero” stuff that is often submitted to our site. They make excellent use of mild crunch and steel string guitars.

I think that they are very original in their overall sound but I do hear many influences such as Tom Petty, The Beatles, REM, Counting Crows. Ed Anderson, the band’s brainchild, makes great use of subtle keyboard parts to outline the chord changes in his compositions. The keyboard parts are also arranged nicely as to not clash with the guitar parts which many would consider somewhat of a lost art.
Read more...
 
Live Review: Steve Lukather at the Ridgefield Playhouse - Ridgefield, CT. August 24, 2008 PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 29 August 2008 13:25
By Ken Volpe - GJD
It’s been a long-time coming, but I finally got a chance to see guitar legend Steve Lukather live. I was also fortunate enough to recently do a phone interview with Mr. Lukather (Part 1 aired on GJD last week). During the phone interview I was able to get some insight into his music, his gear, and his personality. So, seeing him live really made it all come together.

The Ridgefield Playhouse is an amazing little venue. It is an old theatre that has been converted into a concert hall. It seats about 500 people and has darn good acoustics.  Many great acts play here on a weekly basis.

Steve’s 5-piece came out with a bang. They started out rockin’ a couple of tunes from Steve’s latest release entitled, “Ever Changing Times”. Steve’s new band consists of Ricky Zahariades on guitar, Carlitos Del Puerto on bass, Steve Weingart on keyboards, and Eric Valentine on drums. Through out the concert, Steve acknowledged that he was fortunate enough to be playing with such a talented bunch of musicians.  

Between songs Steve spoke about an assortment of things including his career with Toto, and his recent addition to his family. Anyone who knows Luke knows that he has quite an off-color sense of humor and is not shy about sharing it with the audience. It was apparent that most of the people in the crowd were huge Luke fans and appreciated his ripping guitar and his wit.
Read more...
 
Live Review: Larry Carlton at the Blue Note 8.20.08 PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 22 August 2008 14:33
By Ken Volpe - GJD
Sometimes you are fortunate enough to witness live music that is legendary. I mean check it out… Larry Carlton at The Blue Note in New York City. Our table was front and center. What more could I want?  

Before the show started, my buddies and I had a chance to spend a few minutes with Rick Wheeler who is Larry’s guitar tech.  Rick was kind enough to check out my friend’s guitar, which is a Gibson Larry Carlton model. He gave it the “thumbs up” so we headed downstairs to grab some dinner before the show.
Read more...
 
Gear Review: Dynamic Arc Ultra by Solid Cable PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 20 August 2008 01:55

By Ken Volpe - GJD
In today’s boutique guitar market, there are many great accessories to help you achieve better tone. As a matter of fact, the amount of choices can be completely overwhelming for the average player. I must admit that I am a self-professed “tweaker.” I have tried dozen of guitars, amps, speakers, effects, and accessories in my never-ending search for that elusive tonal perfection. Every now and then, a product comes out that stands above the rest. So, let me introduce the Dynamic Arc Ultra cable made by Solid Cable.  


Read more...
 
CD Review: Souls of We featuring George Lynch PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 06 August 2008 01:40

soulsofwe.jpgBy Scott Thomas - GJD Contributor
Well, here I am again at the pleasurable task of bringing you another informative CD review. I was on MySpace and I came across this band called Souls Of We and I noticed it was legendary Guitarist George Lynch's new band. So I ordered it and waited patiently. I just got the CD in the mail and I'm feverishly tearing at the plastic seal trying to get the autographed album free from its tight packaging. I had listening to the short clips on MySpace which only give you a small taste... Not even enough to wet your whistle. I wanted more and now I have it!!

The collective foursome known as Souls Of We marks a new beginning for veteran guitarist George Lynch (Dokken, Lynch Mob) and Charismatic frontman London Legrand (Brides Of Destruction). Rounding out the line-up is powerhouse drummer Yael (Tom Morello, Alex Skolnick) and bassist Johny Chow (Systematic, Fireball Ministry).  "Souls Of We is a dream band where I got to pick and choose players not because one is more famous than the other, but because I really respect and want to play with these people", states Lynch.

Read more...
 
Live Review: Steely Dan, Chicago Theater, 7.15.08 PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 21 July 2008 09:05
johnm.jpgBy John McGlasson - GJD Insider
This past Tuesday I attended the sold-out Steely Dan show at the Chicago Theater, and I have to say that even at 41, and as a major Steely Dan fan, I felt out of my demo at this show, and after watching, and even napping through one tune, I found myself asking; was this worth $150.00? The ticket was over $100, and gas was $50, with no other perks like drinks or t-shirts. My 26 year old friend felt like he was seeing Mel Torme`.

Read more...
 
CD Review: Panic Cell: What Doesn't Kill Us PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 14 July 2008 18:03
51biukwvjql._sl500_aa240_.jpgBy Scott Thomas - GJD Contributor
Summer 2008 is looking up for me already - I just got the new Panic Cell CD What Doesn't Kill Us, and let me tell you something; this album is going to be playing in my iPod for a while. I'll definitely be turning on my metal-head friends to this juggernaut while down at the Texas coast this summer. It's as if I want to carry my new band around with me like they are my own personal party friends, and I want to let everyone know about 'em. You know, wear your favorite band like a badge of honor.

Read more...
 
Live Review: James Taylor & His Band of Legends at Tanglewoods 7/03/08 PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 07 July 2008 16:40
jt.jpgBy Ken Volpe - GJD
Whenever I go to see a living legend perform, I can't help but feel that I am witnessing a part of history in the world of art. Seeing James Taylor and hearing his voice and music at Tanglewood certainly confirmed that idea for me.

My wife and I were fortunate enough to hear James Taylor and his Band of Legends on July 3rd at the famed music venue in Lenox, Massachusetts. Despite the heavy rain showers earlier in the day, the place was packed with fans of all ages, loaded up with blankets, lawn chairs and coolers; they were clearly set to make it an evening to enjoy with their hometown resident.

Read more...
 
CD Review: Tommy Emmanuel's 'Center Stage' PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 18 June 2008 17:49
tommy_emmnauel.jpgBy Ken Volpe - GJD
It seems like every year Tommy Emmanuel gets better. His timing, his chops, and his note choice; he continues to take his music to another level. Mr. Emmanuel also constantly expands his repertoire and ventures into new branches within various genres. The amount of new music that he produces every year is quite impressive.

Read more...
 
Gear Review: Line 6: POD X3 Live PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 11 June 2008 22:25
line6-podx3-live.jpgBy Ken Volpe - GJD
It is amazing how far technology has come in such a short time. I think that we all take this for granted or might I say, most of us are pretty darn spoiled in the gear department. In today’s world of music, a guitarist can have access to hundreds of useful sounds at a very modest price. Line 6 is a huge contributor to this phenomenon and continues to put out great products each and every year. The POD X3 Live is one of their latest offerings. The POD X3 Live is a guitar amp modeler that contains 78 guitar amp simulations and a plethra of digital effects.

Read more...
 
Live Review: EAGLES at MSG, 05.30.08 PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 05 June 2008 18:01
eagleslores.jpgBy Ken Volpe - GJD
Picture this... Madison Square Garden. New York City. May 30, 2008. Don Henley, Glenn Frey, Joe Walsh, and Timothy B. Schmit. A New Record, a New Tour and better than ever. EAGLES.

The first surprise of the evening was when the Eagles walked out on stage in black suits, white shirts and black narrow ties. I must say, it was a perfect fit for them at this point in their careers.
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 5 of 10

ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...