Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews
October 18, 2017
Reviews
Live Review: David Olney at The Rodeo Bar PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 03 June 2008 09:55
do_guit.jpgBy Karl Greenberg - GJD
I asked Philippa Thompson, who plays fiddle and saw - and washboard and upright bass, for that matter - why her band is called M Shanghai String Band. Hell, I was expecting a an Asian fusion musical takeout that stir-fried maybe Chinese single-string violin with Puccini's Madame Butterfly. And I didn't know what to expect from the Rodeo Bar, where the band played an opening set for David Olney on May 14th in NYC.
Read more...
 
CD Review: William Hart Strecker's 'Smoke and Clouds' PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 28 May 2008 08:42
whstrecker3.jpgBy Stan Olshefski - GJD Contributor
William Hart Strecker (Bill to his fans and friends) has been in, out and around the music business since 1972. “Smoke and Clouds” is only his third record and it’s rich soulful atmosphere and detailed stories reflect Strecker’s decades of moody, bluesy living. It’s an old fashioned, true “album” in the sense that it’s a self contained world according to Bill - a group of 14 song linked together with a common world weary, bittersweet philosophy.
Read more...
 
Live Review: Paul Gilbert and Richie Kotzen live at the HOB in Hollywood 5/07/08 PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 22 May 2008 08:52
gilbert.jpgBy Ronny North - GJD Contributor
I was fortunate enough to catch the Paul Gilbert show on May 7th at the House of Blues in Hollywood. To top it off, Richie Kotzen was the opening act.

When we arrived, the line for the show wrapped around the building. Once we got in, we quickly got a got place to see the show and soon the lights went down. The place was packed when Richie Kotzen came out and opened his set with a great version of "Shapes of Things". Kotzen kept up the pace for his entire set playing songs from his many solo CD's. He's got some great songs. My favorite was his song "Remember". Richie has such soul in his voice and his playing.

Read more...
 
Gear Review: The MegaVibe Pedal PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 16 May 2008 22:12
megavibepic.jpgBy Ken Volpe - GJD
In the world of boutique pedals there is massive competition. Among all those pedals, there are a few that stand out. One of those standouts is the KR MegaVibe. The MegaVibe was modeled after the famous 1960's Univox Uni-Vibe. Mr. Kevin Randall did his homework and made a killer pedal. I had heard this pedal referred to as "Hendrix in a box." Jimi would have been proud.

Read more...
 
CD Review: The Carl Verheyen Band - Take One Step PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 12 May 2008 12:46
takeonestep-759708.jpgBy Ken Volpe - GJD
Even though Take One Step was released a while ago I felt it was important to give it it's due. I've been a long time fan of Carl Verheyen and have the utmost respect for him as a musician and a composer.

The first track on the CD, "Georgia's Reel," contains some of my really tight rhythm guitar parts. These rhythm parts are both splendid in tone and in harmonic content. There is also a searing solo that features Carl's trademark intervallic jumps.

Read more...
 
Live Review: RATT at The HOB, Anaheim, CA PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 05 May 2008 19:03
ratt.jpgBy Ronny North - GJD Contributor
RATT played Disney's HOB on April 19th. It was the second to last show of their little So Cal mini tour as a warm up for some European shows in June. The band's current line-up is fronted by original singer Stephen Pearcy (back on lead vocals), Warren DeMartini on lead guitar, Robbie Crane on Bass, Bobby Blotzer on Drums and John Corabi on Rhythm guitar.

Read more...
 
Live Review: Symphony X at The Nokia Theater 4.05.08 PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 22 April 2008 08:43
promopic-1.jpgBy Eric Betts - GJD Contributor
It was a warm April night in New York City and the line outside of the Nokia Theatre was filled with long hair and leather. Tonight the Lords of Symphonic Progressive Metal, Symphony X, returned home with opening acts Into Eternity and Epica.

Extreme Progressive Metal band Into Eternity from Canada opened the show with an amazing set but were cursed by the venues poor acoustics. They played a mix of material from 2004's "Buried in Oblivion" and 2006's "The Scattering of Ashes." They ended their set with the song from their latest video "Endless Winter" and their latest single "Diagnosis Terminal." The band is currently promoting their upcoming album The Incurable Tragedy.
Read more...
 
Gear Review: T-Rex Replica Delay Pedal PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 09 April 2008 18:09
trex1.jpgBy Ken Volpe - Guitar Jam Daily
A few months back I needed a new delay unit for my pedal board. I have tried many delay pedals over the years and have never really been satisfied with any of them. A friend of mine suggested that I purchase the T-Rex Replica delay pedal and boy I am glad that I took his advice. Before I get into the specifics about the pedal, let me tell you a little bit about T-Rex engineering. They are a European company based in Denmark; that has been designing precision effects pedals since the mid ‘90's. Their users include David Gilmour, Pete Townshend, Carlos Santana, John Mayer, Steve Morse, and Gary Moore. The Replica has also been the winner of the Guitar Player Magazine's Editor's Pick award.

Read more...
 
Live Review: Sonny Landreth at The Barns at Wolftrap, Vienna Virginia 04.04.08 PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 07 April 2008 21:08
sonny_landreth-dll-002940.jpgBy Jim Basara - GJD Contributor
There's always something extra special about seeing guitar players that have developed completely unique playing styles and do things on a guitar that are very different from any other player. That's a big part of why I always look forward to seeing Sonny Landreth. We caught up with Sonny on day 1 of a two-day stop in Virginia at a terrific venue called the Barns at Wolf Trap. "The Barns" is part of the Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts and is actually made out of two adjacent 18th century barns. It's a small venue with great acoustics and an excellent house sound system.
Read more...
 
Live Review: Ace Frehley at the House of Blues, Hollywood, 3.25.08 PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 06 April 2008 18:35
ace013.jpgBy Ronny North - GJD Contributor
When I heard that Ace Frehley was doing a tour this year, I was really psyched. My connection to Ace began at the age of fourteen when I received KISS's Destroyer record for Christmas. That spring my father took my brother and I to see our first concert in 1977. It was KISS on their Love Gun tour at the peak of their fame. After seeing the band live in action, Ace became my first guitar hero and KISS became my favorite band. I decided to start playing guitar, and I wanted to play like I Ace in the worst way. He is really the reason I play guitar today.

Read more...
 
CD Review: Eric Sardinas and Big Motor PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 03 April 2008 06:52
fdcd87.jpgBy Joe Sass - Guitar Jam Daily
Eric Sardinas is known for explosive performances and a signature brand of fiery slide work on the Dobro that pushes the boundaries of what steel and wood can handle. With a wicked mix of delta blues, 70's rock, and southern roots music, you'll hear the influences of Charlie Patton, Son House, Robert Johnson, Skip James, Bukka White, and Fred McDowell, Elmore James, Howlin' Wolf, Muddy Waters, Otis Rush, Albert King, Chuck Berry, Johnny Winter, Jimmy Page, and more.

Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 6 of 10

ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...