Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews
October 18, 2017
Reviews
CD Review: Dave Fields Time's A Wastin' PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 12 December 2007 09:18
dave-fields-photo.jpgBy Ken Volpe - Guitar Jam Daily
Dave Fields is a multi-talented hidden gem of New York City. Dave sent me his latest CD, Time's A Wastin' a few weeks back and I haven't been able to stop listening to it. The CD contains 12 tracks, featuring excellent compositions, both raw and fluid guitar tones, great vocals and a slammin' rhythm section. Dave himself plays all the guitar and keyboard parts, as well as most of the bass parts. To top it off, he handles all the vocal chores as well. Dave also produced the project. I must admit that self-produced projects make me wonder what they would sound like in the hands of an outsider producer.
Read more...
 
Gear Review: Hartman OC44 Germanium Treble Boost PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 06 December 2007 11:06
hartmantrebleboost.jpgBy Ken Volpe - Guitar Jam Daily
In the world of hand-made boutique guitar pedals there are a variety of factors that make them stand out. For instance, superior build quality and hand picked components are the primary reasons for what separates them from a mass produced pedal. Another reason of even greater importance is the "ear" of the pedal builder. In other words, the designer needs to have the instinct to utilize components to get the sound that they are looking for. Actually, it's the sound that their future customers are looking for.

Read more...
 
Gear Review: Line 6 Pocket Pod PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 28 November 2007 14:22
By Ken Volpe - Guitar Jam Daily
Now that I have had a chance to spend a few weeks with the new Line 6 Pocket Pod I can safely say that it is an awesome little device. For those of you who don't know what it is, the Pocket Pod is a guitar amp simulator that can be used in a variety of ways. It is an alternative way of producing guitar tones as compared to the traditional way of a guitar and amp set-up.

pocketpod.jpg

In a live setting you can simply plug your guitar into the Pocket Pod and then plug the output of the Pocket Pod into the house PA system. At that point, your guitar tones will come through the main speakers and through the PA monitoring system. Another more common use for the Pocket Pod is to use it as a recording tool. Once again you would plug your guitar into the Pocket Pod and then plug the output of the Pocket Pod into the preamp of your recording system. A third scenario is to plug your guitar into the Pocket Pod and monitor it with headphones.
Read more...
 
CD Review: Darin Leong - Five Years and Many Miles PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 18 November 2007 19:12
fiveyearscover.jpgBy Ken Volpe - Guitar Jam Daily
I'd like to introduce a very talented, not yet well known guitarist from Hawaii, Darin Leong. I received his 13-track CD titled, Five Years and Many Miles, awhile back. Right off the bat, it is obvious that the production is top-notch. The guitar tracks sound full with a rich chime on the top end and a full focused low end. The overall textures are not brittle or overly processed like many acoustic guitar type projects. The overall vibe of Five Years and Many Miles is laid back, tranquil and melodic. In consuming Darin's music, I can easily tell that Darin is at peace with himself and his music. There are a variety of influences evident from his compositions.
Read more...
 
Live Review: Alter Bridge - Hagerstown, Maryland, October 20, 2007 PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 04 November 2007 07:51
mark-tremonti-myles-kennedy.jpgBy Jim Basara - GJD Contributor
I was anxiously awaiting the release of Alter Bridge's new CD - Blackbird - this month, particularly after the release of the single "Rise Today". Their debut CD, One Day Remains, was great, but much of that material was written prior to Myles Kennedy joining the band. So, while their live performances have been flawless, I was looking to the Blackbird CD to really demonstrate the band's potential. After the first listen, I was delighted; after the 20th listen, I was convinced that Alter Bridge will have a very strong impact on rock and roll for many years to come.
Read more...
 
Live Review: Phil Lesh and Friends: Mohegan Sun Arena, CT - 10.19.07 PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 31 October 2007 18:50
pf-2007-band2.jpgBy Steve Santovasi - GJD Contributor
As a lifetime member of the Dead Nation, I could never miss an opportunity to absorb the energy that can only come from the improvisational spirit of the Grateful Dead. Regardless of the form or subtance there is a certain magic that takes place. From the opening riff as it begins to build up to an apex finally encompassing all members of the group on stage and not ending until the final cadence of the evening. It can be compared to musical bull-riding. A balance between modality and atonality, never allowing the musical flow to travel too far from its intended destiny, the members will all finally make their way back together and swing open a new door to the next song.

Read more...
 
Live Review: Steve Vai at The Webster Theater 10.03.07 PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 24 October 2007 05:01
vai.jpgTim McCall, Staff Writer - Guitar Jam Daily
So there we were, part of the GJD crew, heading out to the Steve Vai show at the Webster Theater in Hartford on a Wednesday night. Ken, Dave, Mike and me. I knew before we even left that tonight was going to be a great night. I have always liked Steve Vai's music. Not completely in the same way that I like other styles and artists, but more of an extreme case of admiration for his incredible technical proficiency and wonderfully intricate melodic phrasing. He has had some very memorable recordings that played a large part in my developing love of music over the years. His work on the Bill and Ted's EXCELLENT Adventure soundtrack. The Encino Man soundtrack as well as playing with Frank Zappa, Dweezil Zappa, David Lee Roth, Whitesnake, and of course the Passion and Warfare album -- which is my all-time favorite work by Steve Vai.
Read more...
 
Live Review: Alan Haynes at the J&J Blues Bar Ft. Worth Texas PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 23 October 2007 18:54
alanhaynes3.jpgBy Nick Friese - Guitar Jam Daily
Just off a dimly lit street in the back alleys of Ft. Worth, stands a true Texas Roadhouse called the J&J Blues Bar. The club is wedged in between a few car lots, rail and a tow yards. The only way you'd ever tell it apart from the impound shacks is from the pulsating blue neon light hanging above the door that carries it's name.

When I pulled in and saw the facade of this landmark Texas blues club my heart just started pounding in my chest. I knew I was in for the kind of blues setting and playing that that House of Blues only wished it could be. The J&J is as down and gritty as Texas dirt. The glowing neon above the chipped and cracked front door was the only light on the street. Like a beacon, it acts as a guide to a club where the smoke clouds fill the air, bras hang from the rafters, banners wallpaper the joint, and the beer is ice cold and the blues is smoking hot.

Read more...
 
Taylor Gives Birth To A New Generation: The Electric Solid Body Guitar PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 16 October 2007 19:19
tesbw.jpgBy Nick Friese -10.17.07
Last week, I had the opportunity to make a visit to the Taylor guitar headquarters in El Cajon, California to get a sneak peek at the first production models of the new Taylor Solid Body Electric guitars. My visit was right on the cusp of their first full week of solid body production at the factory. The builders inside the factory walls were busy setting up and testing Taylor's tools and machines for the production of the new electrics, making sure the settings were spot on to carve the bodies, cut the neck joints, sand the tops, sides, and necks, press the frets, buff the tops, and assemble the electronics and finish the guitars. You could feel the sense of excitement and a maybe a pinch of anxiety among the team as they were putting the finishing touches on the process to make sure the first full week would go according to plan.
Read more...
 
Live Notes: Tesla at the Nokia Theater, NYC 9.13.07 PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 16 September 2007 19:44
By Jon Whitfield - Staff Writer
Thursday night in New York ,Tesla took the stage at the Nokia Theater in the heart of Times Square. The packed house of 2,000+ erupts as the show opened with "Solution," a selection from their 1995 album "Bust a Nut" - the final album together before a 10-year hiatus.
tesla 7.jpg

The band was in great form - energetic, tight and engaged with their New York faithful. At one point, bassist Brian Wheat received a Yankee jersey from a proud, enthusiastic fan at stage side. Wheat dons the jersey for the entire concert amid some boos from some concert goers - definitely Met's fans. Wheat returns the jersey to Yanks fan at the end of the night.

The set consists of a mix of Tesla hits over the past 25 years and a few choice covers from their latest 2 CD release, "Reel to Real," a collection of covers from the 60's and 70's.
Read more...
 
Mag Review: Guitar Edge PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 07 September 2007 03:54
covergeissueseptoct2007.jpgBy Larry Dobrow - GJD Contributor
MY FIRST JOB WAS as a mail-order peon at the original Victor's House of Music in North Jer-Z. Occasionally I answered a phone call or restrung a guitar, but mostly I sat around and listened to the fantastic ramblings of my boss Jim.

Jim was a stringy, glue-inhaling sort, prone to sudden stumbles into the styrofoam bin. He regaled me with tales of his on-the-verge metal band, the Snorkling Hamsters, and heaped praise upon an up-and-coming poet named David Coverdale by quoting liberally from "Slide It In," "Slow An' Easy" and "Spit It Out." Lazing away the afternoons with Jim impressed two things upon my adolescent mind: First, that Coverdale is a master of the subtle sexual quadruple-entendre; and second, that I better get my grades up, and fast. Assuming Jim always remembered to open the garage door while revving the engine on his late-model party van, he's probably a huge fan of Guitar Edge nowadays. The mag, a throwback to the late, great Guitar, ranks as the leanest guitar title on the market. Ordinarily "lean" would mean "weak and/or devoid of creativity, wit and advertising," but in this case I intend it as high praise.

Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 8 of 10

ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...