Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews
October 18, 2017
Reviews
CD Review: David Grissom's Loud Music PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 04 September 2007 18:56
loudmusic cover.jpgBy Nick Friese, GJD
I ran into Dave Grissom at the PRS booth while I was down in Austin, TX for Summer NAMM. He was making an appearance to help promote his new Paul Reed Smith Signature Guitar - The DTG. (For those of you who haven't seen the guitar, you can check it out here. The DTG was also a winner of our Summer NAMM Awards) After meeting with some of the PRS execs I had a chance to talk with Dave a bit about items ranging from his show that night with Storyville, his new signature guitar, recent projects - which led us to his new solo CD entitled Loud Music.

For any of you out there who have been living under a rock for your guitar playing life, David Grissom has toured and recorded with some of the biggest names in music today; ranging from John Mellencamp, Chris Isaak, Allman Brothers, John Mayall, Buddy Guy, The Dixie Chicks, to name a few. Trisha Yearwood, Lee Ann Womack, Shannon Curfman, Storyville, and more have recorded many of David's songs.
Read more...
 
CD Review: Robben Ford's Truth PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 23 August 2007 10:34
robben ford.jpgBy This e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
I just received my copy of Truth, the latest offering by Robben Ford. The eagerly awaited CD contains 11 cuts featuring vocals and a variety of rhythm sections.

The CD starts out with a song called "Lateral Climb," which features a traditional blues vamp with some nice tenor sax parts that blend well with Robben's guitar parts. His guitar tones are still smooth and sweet, but they now tend to be a bit brighter compared to past projects. The solo has some nice tremelo picking and a few out of the box chord changes that he plays through with ease.
Read more...
 
Live Review: Crossroads Guitar Festival - 7.28.07 PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 03 August 2007 04:42
gjd jb-4.jpgBy John McGlasson
It had been a long time since my jaded self had seen such an impressive display of guitar playing as I did on a beautiful day last weekend covering the Crossroads Guitar Festival for GJD.

I took my friend Ken Thornton to take photos for me, since I'm notorious for missing the moment, screwing up the camera settings, or ruining great photo opportunities in countless ways. It was also a great chance to revel in guitar geekdom with a fellow true guitar geek (Ken plays with vonFrickle , and has also toured with the Rutles!!)

We got there early, 9:30 a.m., to get our press creds and avoid the traffic. This made for a very long day, 12 hours at the event!! You'll notice all our pics are zoomed from a great distance, about 60 yards. They were pretty serious about press people shooting from the platform next to the mixing console, so serious that they escorted all photographers and press people from the press room to the platform and back all day long! This relaxed a bit as the day went on, and I was able to take some pics from up high that are ok.

So here's a set-by-set review of the show and a photo gallery. Enjoy!
Read more...
 
Live Review: Steve Smith's 'Vital Information' at Sculler's PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 16 July 2007 18:25
vital info combined.jpgBy Keith Augeri
The arrival of a new album by Steve Smith and his Vital Information band, entitled "Vitalization," combined with tour dates in my area, piqued my interest. This band has been carrying the "fusion" torch to another potential generation of listeners, and as a member of a earlier generation of followers, I felt it would be a good idea to go out and hear his new stuff.

The release of new material by Smith has been a cause for celebration for me for over twenty years now. Upon arriving to the venue, I noticed something new - a different guitar rig, and was introduced to Vinny Valentino, Frank Gambale's replacement.
Read more...
 
CD Review: Tesla's "Real to Reel" PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 12 June 2007 18:43
tesla_real_to_reel_cover.jpgBy Joe Sass
There seems to be a trend forming in the music world as CD's from many big name artists with new cover albums are streaming in. Mostly coming from the more mature, successful acts who have had an urge to re-record the songs that were such a big part of the collective consciousness of the past. So when a colleague handed me Real to Reel, the new CD of classic rock covers from Telsa, I just smiled and thanked him, figuring that I was in for another 45-minutes of music that I could simply enjoy from the original source.

Tesla's Real to Reel 1 is their sixth studio album and was released on June 5. The rock guitar heavy track list offers up classic rock songs from acts like the James Gang, Clapton, Zeppelin, UFO, Robin Trower, Rolling Stones and Traffic.

To capture the authentic sounds from the 60's and 70's era, the members of Tesla recorded the album by using analog tape and vintage equipment. Which was the first sign to me that these guys were curators, and cared deeply about preserving the sonic integrity of songs. And guitarists Frank Hannon and Dave Rude are masterful in their work on the album and could be tagged as Guitar Gods (or ghosts) from the past.
Read more...
 
Gear Review: Incase Slim Gig Bag PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 07 June 2007 04:21
ken_volpe_guitar_jam_daily.jpgBy This e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
Believe it or not, I am doing a review of a gig bag. Yes, you heard right, a "gig bag."

The gig bag was developed back in the day as an alternative to the cumbersome hard shell guitar case. Gig bags are more portable, easier to maneuver and more convenient than your standard case. The folks at Incase developed quite an innovative gig bag.

When I first received the Incase Slim Bag I did a double take due to its unique shape. It almost looks like a large violin case or maybe even a case that Tony Soprano would own. I instantly thought to myself, "My Stratocaster will never fit in there." I unzipped the case and placed my guitar inside to see if it would really fit. Wouldn't you know it...it fit like a glove. Next, I placed my Les Paul inside and it also fit like a glove.

The Incase Slim Bag is made of a durable, waterproof material. The inside has thick plush lining with serious foam behind it, cocooning the guitar. The inside edges are surrounded by very durable padded nylon. The back of the guitar neck rests on a padded nylon area leaving the headstock to overhang safely at the top of the case without flopping around. The inside also has two zippered inner compartments on each side of the island that the neck rests on. These compartments are deep enough to hold picks, strings, a strap, a tuner, tools and various other essentials.
Read more...
 
Gear Review: AmpliTube 2 PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 10 May 2007 06:30
box_at2.jpgBy Ken Volpe
Now that I've had AmpliTube 2 for a few weeks, I fully understand what all the good props are about. IK Multimedia developed this very intuitive software in 2002 and they continue to show their creative prowess with this recent version.

One fear for myself and other guitarists is software installation. Many companies have complex installation procedures to avoid piracy of their software. I must admit that the installation of AmpliTube 2 on my system was not a piece of cake. It required various E-mails and phone calls to their tech support department to get me up and running. Hence, my fear was once again realized. Although, part of the issue was not on their end, it was a glitch in my software, Digital Performer. I must add that the tech support department at IK Multimedia was extremely knowledgeable, patient and helpful.

Read more...
 
Review: Rodrigo y Gabriela PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 03 May 2007 03:30
gal_vicar1.jpgBy Joe Sass
A few weeks ago someone in the office came up to me and had asked if I had heard of Rodrigo y Gabriela. "Who?" I replied. "Come on," she said, "you write for a guitar publication, and you haven't heard of them?" "Well, they must be flying under the radar," I offered, my ego kicking in. Uh yea right....

My interest piqued, I moved quickly to my desk and Googled (the global source to gauge the popularity of anything) RyG. Right away, up came literally thousands of results on the guitar duo. Yep, under the radar as the saying goes. A few glowing reviews on Rolling Stone.com, Billboard.com and New York Times slowly brought my head out of the sand. When the Times writes about a guitar act before I do I should just mail it in. Soon, with the written word no longer satisfying my growing curiosity, I had to move on to digital video to see what all of the buzz was about.
Read more...
 
Live Review: Holdsworth Trio at Johnny D's Somerville, Mass PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 09 April 2007 19:01
By Keith Augeri
I wasn’t sure that I made the right decision as I left my vehicle in the parking garage and raced across the street in the single-digit, negative wind-chill-factor weather to hear the guitar virtuoso Allan Holdworth on a recent Wednesday evening. I felt much better when Chad Wackerman, Jimmy Johnson and Allan took to the stage for what Holdsworth called, “our final rehearsal.”

We were informed that Johnny D's was the final stop on his last tour, and that this season’s schedule found the group beginning the tour here. To call Johnny’s D’s a small club is an understatement; Jimmy Johnson played through the house PA as there was not even enough room on the stage for a bass rig, never mind a potential keyboard rig. Jimmy Johnson apparently must have gotten the time off for good behavior from his day gig (James Taylor) to allow him to accompany the premier fusion guitarist.
Read more...
 
CD Review: Grant Street by Sonny Landreth PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 22 March 2007 05:53
By Joe Sass
Sonny Lanreth’s guitar playing has been admired for years by many of music's biggest stars. Clapton said he is "probably the most underestimated musician on the planet and also probably one of the most advanced." Beyond the admiration, his long resume includes appearances on many other artists' albums and tours including John Hiatt, Bonnie Raitt, Mark Knopfler, and Buddy Guy.

Grant Street, Landreth's ninth album was released in 2005 and was recorded Live at Grant Street Dancehall, Lafayette, LA, April 23 and 24, 2004. The album features Landreth on guitars and vocals, Dave Ranson on bass and Kenneth Blevens on drums and was produced by Sonny Landreth, Tony Daigle, and R.S. Field.

The set list includes songs from Sonny's first out-of-print 1981 solo release all the way up to his last release, 2003's Best Contemporary Blues Grammy-nominated The Road We're On. It’s a mix of instrumental and vocal blues, rock, creole, zydeco and roots based music

Read more...
 
Guitar Review: Collings CL Deluxe PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 19 March 2007 20:25
By Bill Wilke
I recently had the privilege of testing out a new Collings electric guitar, a City Limits (CL) Deluxe model. I am happy to report that the Collings mojo translates powerfully from acoustic to electric guitars.

In a recent article in Fretboard Journal, Collings right hand man Steve McCreary described Bill Collings as having the eye of a designer, the hands of a machinist and the brain of an engineer. The same article noted that Collings himself can be an intimidating boss, a very competitive perfectionist who doesn’t tolerate mediocrity. Some people say he’s nuts; he’s eccentric at the least. In the acoustic guitar world, this has created instruments which are noted for understated but mature design, superb workmanship, quality materials, solid construction, superb playability, and a sound that boggles…in a very specific way.

The Collings sound is articulate, clear, and most of all, what I call “mature.” By this I mean that it doesn’t seduce the listener with a hyped quality: no booming bass at the expense of everything else, no overtones that get lost in a mix, no compression that protects the player from having his or her mistakes heard, no fast attack that compromises a pleasing decay envelope, no ultra-string separation that reduces warmth and sonic integration, or vice versa.
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 9 of 10

ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...