Guitar Jam Daily
Home Reviews
October 17, 2017
Reviews
CD Review: Mike Landau Group Live PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 14 March 2007 19:17
By Mark Williams
Most everyone has heard Mike Landau's tasteful guitar work many times over on countless major record releases. From his more ambient, textural work on Joni Mitchell records to his soulful complement to James Taylor's tunes, Mike always leaves his original sonic footprint bringing the artists' composition to the next level. Mike is one of the few session players who gets hired to sound completely like himself. He is a producer's dream session guy, in that he will always play the right part, in the right place with proper impact while never getting in the way of the vocal performance. Oh and his tones.....

Mike is also a tremendous writer and performer. He has released various records with his bands Burning Water and the Raging Honkies, showcasing his talents as a writer and producer, truly in his element. All are wonderful recordings and should be mandatory listening for every guitarist. He has also released 2 amazing solo albums.

To truly appreciate Mike's gift, he must be seen in a live setting. His live sound is just so amazing. There is so much behind what is coming out of those speaker cabinets. Mike's dynamic delivery flows from gentle release to a flaming inferno of intensity. There is so much depth to Mike as a player and as a person. His latest release, The Michael Landau Group - Live, does a great job capturing the range of his solo and group work and is a requisite CD for every guitar players collection.
Read more...
 
CD Review: Carlos Santana and Wayne Shorter Live at The 1988 Montreaux Jazz Festival PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 08 March 2007 07:21
By This e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
It's so refreshing to encounter a new release by Carlos Santana that takes the listener back in time and reintroduces the classic sounds of Carlos. Carlos Santana and Wayne Shorter Live at The 1988 Montreaux Jazz Festival is Carlos straight up, no (pop) rocks - just the way we like ‘em.

Clearly the pop parings from Sir Clive in the late nineties and early 2000 brought Carlos new fans and revived his career. And yes it was nice to see that Carlos won nine Grammy's for “Smooth” and the album “Supernatural.” Certainly a class act collecting his dues. That song and album may have some modern day acclaim and staying power, but simply doesn’t provide the purity or the gravitas of a song like “Samba Pa Ti” on an album like Abraxas - where the black magic of Carlos lives.

Carlos Santana and Wayne Shorter Live at The 1988 Montreaux Jazz Festival is a pinch and sprinkle of that ol'magic dust.

The pairing of Carlos Santana and Wayne Shorter started off as a goof when Santana said to his longtime friend in 1987, "Let's start a rumor that we're putting a band together." And Wayne responded, "Yeah, Carlos, let's start a rumor."

Read more...
 
Live Review: BX3 PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 01 March 2007 07:22

By This e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
I normally don’t write concert reviews for Guitar Jam, but I just can’t help myself having seen one of the best shows in years. For those of you who didn’t catch the BX3 tour (the tour is over in a couple of days), you must put it on your “to do” list the next time they go out.

Assembled by Stu Hamm (Frank Gambale, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, etc.), BX3 boasts three of the best bass players in the history of earth. Stu is joined by legendary jazz bassist Jeff Berlin (John McLaughlin, Allan Holdsworth, Michael and Randy Brecker, etc.), and the god of rock and roll bass, Billy Sheehan (Talas, Mr. Big, David Lee Roth, Steve Vai, etc.).

As with the G3 tour, the lineup of Berlin, Hamm, and Sheehan each play a solo set and then join together for some reckless abandon. In my case, we got an extra treat right at the beginning of the show. Inspired by their proximity to the nation’s capitol, the three launched the show with their bass driven rendition of the Star Spangled Banner, with Sheehan doing an admirable job on vocals (not an easy song to sing).

Read more...
 
Gear Review: Eventide Eclipse PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 28 February 2007 20:18

By This e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
Last month I received my Eventide Eclipse multi effects processor. Now that I have had some quality time to spend with it, I realize what a powerful sonic tool the Eclipse really is. The folks at Eventide really did their homework on this one.


Let’s jump right in. I first started by auditioning the various Factory Presets. These presets are grouped by category, by number, and by name. The groupings made me feel like I knew my way around instantly. Then I wanted to try tweaking some of the presets. Accessing the individual parameters seemed a bit overwhelming at first. However, after reading a few pages in the manual and taking it one step at a time, it all started to make sense. There are various hot keys that allow you to bypass preliminary sub-menus. In other words, with the press of one button you can go straight to the source for instant tweaking. Eventide also employs a numeric keypad for entering in values instead of using the data wheel and/or cursors. That feature is really helpful when comparing presets. The LCD display is very clear from any angle and is visible in just about any room lighting. The rear panel features a vast array of analog and digital inputs and outputs. The Eclipse uses only the highest quality jacks and connectors.

Read more...
 
CD Review: Clapton and Cale's Road to Escondido PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 27 February 2007 20:27

By This e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it , Staff Writer

Eric Clapton and JJ Cale's "The Road to Escondido" is a collaboration of two rock icons on a blues, folk, country, Americana, and rock album. "The Road" began back in 2004 when Eric Clapton held his three-day Crossroads Guitar Festival in Dallas, Texas, featuring J.J. Cale. After working together, Clapton asked Cale produce an album for him. Released on November 7, 2006, it contains the final recordings of Billy Preston, to whom it is also dedicated.

"Eric and I have known each other for a long time and it was a great experience to finally make a record together - he's a great musician and it was a pleasure to work so closely on this project with him," said J.J. Cale.

Clapton's covers of Cale's legendary tunes "Cocaine" and "After Midnight" ignited the relationship 36 years ago, but this recording marks the first time the two musicians have written, produced and played on an album together. Joining them on this CD are guitar notables Derek Trucks, Doyle Bramhall II, John Mayer, and Albert Lee, who trade riffs throughout the album.

Read more...
 
Live Review: Mike Landau with The Jazz Ministry at The Baked Potato PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 27 February 2007 20:23

By This e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
I have been a huge Mike Landau fan since 1992. Being an East Coast guy, I have never had the chance to see him play in a club setting. After a long day at NAMM followed by dinner, my Guitar Jam Daily partner, Nick Friese, and I drove an hour to catch the 11:30pm show at The Baked Potato in North Hollywood.

The show was billed as “The Jazz Ministry.” The band was Abe Laboriel on bass, Abe Laboriel Jr. on drums, Greg Mathieson on keyboard and, of course, Mr. Landau on guitar. The show consisted of a handful of tunes, each featuring extended jams with all four artists.

In the middle of the show the band took a short break to allow Abe Sr. to minister to the crowd about gratitude, a Godly perspective and a heartfelt appreciation for the audience. I have had the privilege to hang out with Abe Sr. in the past and I must say that he is truly a holy man filled with God’s spirit both in his music and in his being. He is one of life’s true rare gems.

As the show progressed, I got the sense that we were all in the presence of true greatness. All four musicians seemed to be totally in the zone with an indescribable synergy.

Read more...
 
Live Review: Prince Breaks Out The Big Stick at The Super Bowl PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 27 February 2007 20:20
By Nick Friese
Ever since Prince’s performance last year on Saturday Night Live and at the Super Bowl on Sunday, my ears have opened up to his guitar playing. Prior to these gigs, I never studied his playing closely or gave much reverence to his guitar work. But now that’s all changed, and Prince has certainly hit my hi-def hero screen with his latest “guitar forward” performances.

I’m sure many of you are saying: “Come on! How could you miss this guy’s guitar skills over the past twenty or so years? Are you tone deaf? He’s been ripping it for decades!” O.k. for those who are yelling epithets into your computer screens now, relax and take a deep breath. I recall having a similar conversation with one of my guitar teachers a few years ago about Prince’s playing and he was huffing and puffing too.

Read more...
 
CD Review: Matt Rae's "Tele-pathic" PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 23 February 2007 06:30

Telepathiccover1 By Joe Sass
In part two of our Artist to Watch series, we are going to take a look (and a listen) at Matt Rae’s most recent effort, “Tele-Pathic.” This is his second CD with his group, the Matt Rae Trio, and is the follow up to their first CD, “Twang.” Both albums have been receiving high praise from industry critics and music publications. Now it’s our turn to pop in the ear buds and see if this Tele-Master has the goods everyone is raving about.

Out of the case, we find that Paul Opalach and Matt Rae produced the CD at Long Hill Studios in the country music hub of Shelton, CT. Such a rare spot to bring out countrified guitar playing and production qualities that would certainly rival the likes of Brent Mason, Albert Lee, James Burton, Roy Buchanan and the super slick producers in Nashville. One spin through the CD you’d probably think you were listing to a down home country picker born and raised in the Grand Ole Opry. The production values on the CD are simply outstanding as well as Matt’s guitar playing.

Read more...
 
CD Review: Trey Anastasio's "Bar 17" PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 23 February 2007 06:28

T5cd13By Nick Friese
On October 3, Trey Anastasio released "Bar 17," his fifth studio album on his newly formed record label, "Rubber Jungle Records." The effort continues Trey's streak of being off the hook as a member of Phish. Although, he did include contributions by John Fishman and Mike Gordon on the record.

“Bar 17” was recorded over three years and features more than 42 different musicians including Benevento/Russo Duo and John Medeski. The album was recoded at Trey's studio, The Barn, in Vermont. All the songs were written at the same time as “Shine” but the main difference between the two albums was the recoding process. "Bar 17," unlike “Shine,” was recorded (the way Trey prefers) with lots of musicians, various collaborators, and people around him. “Shine” was a collaboration of one, and he recoded all of the guitar parts playing, not with a band, but over a click track. Which is probably why Bar 17 sounds closer to his work with Phish and is more of a sunny-rock record than a distant pop creation.


Read more...
 
Mag Review: Guitar Player PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 23 February 2007 05:57
By Larry Dobrow
For serious six-stringers, Guitar Player is the Robert Fripp to Guitar World's Richie Sambora (I say that as a guy who does not consider Bon Jovi the musical embodiment of pure evil). GP takes the task of educating and informing its readers quite seriously, serving up the best-rounded mix of riffs and tips of any guitar mag I've surveyed in recent months.

The cover of the December issue lets readers know they're in for something a bit more expansive, showcasing Allman Brothers/Government Mule mainstay Warren Haynes and extending shout-outs to Wes Montgomery and Ike Turner. The topical diversity extends throughout the issue, whether a "No Guitarist Left Behind" appreciation of Jim McCarty or an evaluation of the Steve Miller catalog from a guitar-guy perspective (please fire, with great prejudice, the copy editor who missed the beyond-blatant typo in the mention of FM radio mainstay "Rockin' Me" -- it's "Rock 'N Me," goldarnit). The mag also devotes considerable space to lesser-known and eminently worthy players like Kaki King and Liona Boyd, affording each ample opportunity to discuss her craft.

Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 10 of 10

ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...