Guitar Jam Daily
Home Today's Stories Gear Review: Laney LionHeart Amplifier
June 1, 2020
Gear Review: Laney LionHeart Amplifier PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 14 February 2008 16:49
l5t-112.jpgBy Ken Volpe - Guitar Jam Daily
I recently came across the Laney LionHeart Amplifier at the 2008 NAMM show. This 5-watt combo sports a single 12-inch speaker, 2 foot switchable channels and reverb. This Class A hand wired little beast is powered by a single EL84 power tube and three 12ax7 pre amp tubes. It also features an FX loop and a built-in tilt back stability system to further project your sound.

Right off the bat you wonder why a 5-watt amp comes in such a large package? Typically, 5-watt amps are housed in a combo shell that is about a foot tall and a foot wide. The LionHeart is about the size of a Fender Deluxe Reverb. I believe the folks at Laney had a very specific goal in mind with this amp. At 5-watts you can run an amp full out without damaging your ears and you get the tonal benefits of power tube distortion very easily. Many other 5-watt amps I've played that are housed in smaller combo shells with small speakers sound very thin and small, what else would you expect? Not to belabor the point, but that is what Laney was trying to avoid. Hence, they designed a bigger cabinet for a low wattage amp. If desired, this amp really does give you that full-on sound without breaking your windows.

Okay, let's get specific and talk about the clean channel. With any of my guitars the clean channel was a treat. The EQ section was very flexible and usable. I was able to play funk, blues, or jazz with convincing timbres. The Celestion Greenback speaker is a perfect match for this amp. It is never too harsh on the top end and there is just enough give on the low end so that the amp feels right. The reverb was also fairly useful and did not muddy up the tone in the clean channel.

My only complaint about the clean channel was that I wanted more headroom. But, I quickly reminded myself that the LionHeart is a 5-watt amp and that 5-watt amps are never going to have a lot of clean headroom. I'd say that is a pretty good testimony to the sound quality of this amp. Since I expected the amp to have more clean headroom, to me that means that his amp has the sound and feel of a bigger amp.

laney2.jpg

Now, let's talk about the LionHeart's lead channel. As with most hand wired amps, it shares the EQ controls with the clean channel. The cool thing is the way the gain and the master volume work for this channel. By utilizing different gain and master settings, I was able to achieve many great rock tones. I'd say pretty convincing pre amp and power amp distortion tones. My one gripe was when I pushed the volume on the lead channel the reverb became a bit too "springy" for my taste.

Esthetically, the LionHeart amp with its fancy blue covering, chrome control panel and wheat grill is definitely a looker. A lot of guitar players are hung up on things like how many watts does an amp have. Some guys will love the idea of a 5-watt amp and some guys will hate it. I think if you put all of that out of your mind and just play the LionHeart you will really enjoy it. I also put this amp through its paces in the recording studio and was really pleased with the results. Both clean and lead tracks sounded full and rich. There are not a lot of companies that make an amp of this nature; and that's all the more reason to go check it out.
 
ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...