Guitar Jam Daily
Home Today's Stories CD Review: Steve Stevens Memory Crash
March 31, 2020
CD Review: Steve Stevens Memory Crash PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 04 March 2008 17:17
stevens_front_cover_miniweb.jpgBy Ken Volpe - Guitar Jam Daily
Here it is, another Tuesday new CD release date. It's March 4th 2008 and the long awaited solo project from Steve Stevens is here.

A few weeks back his label, Magna Carta, sent me a promotion copy of Memory Crash. As soon as I heard about this project I was extremely excited. I have always been a huge fan of Steve's music and knew that this latest work would be a gem.

The production is well balanced and this CD flat-out just sounds great.

On the 9 originals, Steve plays all the instruments except the drums. Rock session drummer and longtime friend Brian Tichy covered this in marvelous fashion.  

The first song that really caught my attention was titled, “Hellcats Take The Highway.” The groove on this song has some good old school rock flavor blended with a more current feel, which really works.  The melody lines are intricate and fully locked-in with the band.  

After that you are hit with the title cut, “Memory Crash.” This tune contains a drop tuned fuzz laden rhythm part that is mean and funky.  Steve utilizes a Digitech Whammy Pedal throughout the tune in a tasteful fashion. Memory Crash also has some perfectly blended harmonies and layers.  

Track 4, “Water on Ares,” take a different turn. The intro is a subdued dual guitar part. Steve plays the rhythm part with a unique Mando Guitar and plays the catchy melody with his trusty Collings steel-string. The song builds into an intense solo featuring some classic Steve Stevens melodic offerings.  

Memory Crash does showcase one well-placed cover. “Day Of The Eagle” a Robin Trower classic was his choice. I played this for a handful of life-long Trower fans and they all agreed that Steve’s version pays tribute in a kick-ass way. Guest artist, Dug Pinnick, covers the vocal and bass duties rather well.  

A little further along on the CD I came across “Prime Mover.” The song begins with a Flamenco-inspired passage and works its way into a tight ii/V groove. The solo that Steve plays on this song is probably my favorite from the CD. There is one part in this solo that is still jaw dropping to my jaw. (Real TMJ stuff.) I mean the guy can really play and does it with serious passion. He’s got tone, taste and chops…he’s got it all.  

The final cut titled “Josephine,” really hit me for two reasons. Number one, it has an intro that just made me feel good.  Number two; the middle section is clearly a tribute to guitar legend, Steve Howe of Yes. You can hear more about that in my interview that I did with Steve last week on GJD.  

Obviously many of us know Steve Stevens from his early days with Billy Idol. But I would venture to say that most Idol fans aren’t aware of his compositional prowess. Besides great writing, His playing on Memory Crash is very melodic and thoughtful and never too full of riffs or unwarranted shredding. The overall vibe of the project is familiar yet unique at the same time which is a sign of true genius in my opinion.

Don’t even think twice just go buy this CD and let it rip…. 
 
ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...