Guitar Jam Daily
Home Today's Stories Gear Review: Ibanez/Keeley TS 808
September 22, 2019
Gear Review: Ibanez/Keeley TS 808 PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 17 March 2008 15:06
ts808.jpgBy Ken Volpe - Guitar Jam Daily
For nearly three decades the Ibanez Tube Sceamer has been a staple for many player’s guitar rigs. Famous users include Stevie Ray Vaughn, Trey Anastasio, and so on…

The Tube Screamer sound is a sustaining, smooth overdrive that is best suited for Blues and Blues-Rock. Certain amplifiers tend to like being interfaced with a Tube Screamer. The most notable Tube Screamer friendly amp is the black-faced era Fender. The original TS-808 pedal is very rare and highly sought after. Various replicas made by Ibanez and other companies have come out since then. Most players agree that they don’t have the sound and the mojo of the original. That’s where Mr. Keeley comes in.
Roughly ten years ago, Robert Keeley had the knowledge and the willingness to start designing and tweaking guitar pedals. Fast forward to 2008, the result is a well-respected and successful pedal company. Robert knows how to design and tweak a pedal to give it that extra ten percent of magic.

I personally have a lot of experience with Tube Screamers and I’d have to say that Mr. Keeley nailed it on this one. In side-by-side comparisons of an original TS808, I found nothing to complain about. I actually prefer the Keeley version. For starters, Keeley uses the highest quality components. There are metal film resistors in the circuit to improve the signal to noise ratio. Film capacitors are utilized to provide the ultimate frequency response in this pedal. The main foot switch is heavy duty, which was a complaint on the original. The controls are smoother and more gradual, making it easier to dial in your tone.

But as we all know, the thing that really matters is the sound. I was able to dial in the exact same silky, liquid lead tone as I was with the original. Many of the other replica versions seem to be lacking in the tone department. The highs were a little too “spikey” and the lows seemed a little unfocused. That is not the case with the Keeley. My test rig was a Baker Robben Ford model and a Tony Bruno CT35 1 x 12 combo. With this set-up and the pedal I was able to achieve a host of great sounds. With my neck pick-up split, SRV tones were a breeze. Setting the Keeley overdrive control to max in conjunction with my bridge pick-up yielded a searing yet refined lead sound. I also found by dialing back my guitar volume I was able to achieve a slew of medium crunch tones. I also utilized the Keeley 808 in line with one of my distortion pedals for some amazing results. An over-the-top high gain tone that would rival any cranked modded Plexi.

In conclusion, I would say that the Keeley Overdrive Pro is the answer to any gear freak that has searched for an original 808. As I alluded to earlier, the build quality makes this more reliable than the original. Unlike the original, the Overdrive Pro has true by-pass circuitry. In other words, when the pedal is not engaged it has zero effect on your sound; a must for modern pedal boards. It’s noteworthy to add that the Overdrive Pro is also more versatile than the original. At a street price of roughly half of what the original costs, it’s a no-brainer. Hats off to Mr. Keeley for another successful pedal in his growing line.
 
ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...