Guitar Jam Daily
Home Today's Stories Live Review: Yngwie Malmsteen at Blender Theater, NYC, October 26, 2008
March 29, 2020
Live Review: Yngwie Malmsteen at Blender Theater, NYC, October 26, 2008 PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 31 October 2008 20:19
By Tim McCall, Contributing Writer – Guitar Jam Daily
WOW! How in the world could I pass up the opportunity to see Yngwie Malmsteen on tour, promoting his new album? When I was asked to do this review, I jumped at the opportunity. You have to understand, I have been a huge Yngwie fan from the moment I first heard “Anguish and Fear” on his 1985 Album “Marching Out.” I was instantly hooked. I had never heard anyone rip up and down the fret board the way Yngwie did. I think to some extent I am still waiting to hear anyone come even close and frame it into a listenable song that actually works.
I am one of those people who has ADHD, with a heavy emphasis on the “Hyperactivity” part. All those screaming guitar notes and riffs ripping through my head are like the fireworks going off to Handel’s “Music for the Royal Fireworks!” Brain Neuron INSANITY! It’s better than being named Beavis and drinking massive quantities of coffee!!!  

Yngwie has had well over 20 albums throughout his career and I could easily write half a book going over the various band incarnations, minor changes in style and approaches and the various collaborations in which he has participated. Suffice to say; his catalog is massive and it contains something every style of guitar player can listen to for inspiration. Yngwie has always remained true to his own unique musical vision and for that, I have nothing but respect for him.

Now, you could listen to every single song Yngwie has ever created and it would not come anywhere close to actually experiencing a live performance by him. Notice I say “performance,” not show. Because Yngwie PERFORMS. While other guitar heroes have crashed and burned and slowly faded away into obscurity, Yngwie has escaped the pitfalls often associated with superstardom and continues to make great music. Yngwie throws his guitar 10 to 15 feet in the air, does the over the shoulder spin (and gets the tone to change while he does it), rips the strings off his guitar one by one while the feedback from him gigantic vintage Marshall stacks screams through your brain. Oh yeah, my buddy Ron Hanley (from Manitoba’s Wild Kingdom) counted them, 25 VINTAGE Marshall heads, more than Judas Priest had at Madison Square Garden. (Okay, ONLY six had their lights on… in a 500-seat venue!)

Yngwie played some of the songs from his new album, “Perpetual Flame” which he is promoting on this tour. Tim “Ripper” Owens, former front-man/ replacement for Rob Halford of Judas Priest, is singing and he stays true to his nickname; he rips it up. Yngwie actually sang one song himself to which I thought he did extremely well. I am going to have to recheck all my album liner notes, because I don’t remember EVER hearing or seeing Yngwie sing. Not even when I saw him a few years back on his last go round. Could it be that Yngwie is going to move in the direction of other guitar heroes like Stevie Ray Vaughan and Jimi Hendrix? I think I would dig it. He also played some of his standard classics like “I am a Viking,” “You Don’t Remember, I’ll Never Forget,“ “I’ll See the Light Tonight.” The required acoustic intro to his songs were performed in his signature style. For the encore, it was fitting that he closed out with the song that put him on the map and the road to Stardom, “Black Star” and “Faster than the Speed of Light.”  All in all, it was an awesome show and I highly recommend you go and see Yngwie on this tour.  Photos by www.photosynthesisphotography.org

 
ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...