Guitar Jam Daily
Home Today's Stories Gear Review : Zoom H4 Recorder
March 31, 2020
Gear Review : Zoom H4 Recorder PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 05 February 2009 03:12
By Ken Volpe - GJD
The Zoom H4 Recorder is a versatile little recorder.  It’s jammed packed with many features such as on-board effects, built-in condenser mics, phantom-powered external mic inputs.  Amazingly enough you are able to use it as a 4-track recorder and record these tracks in a 24 bit/96khz format.

I was able to utilize the H4 in a variety of applications.  First, I used the internal mics to record my band’s rehearsal.  The recording quality was very realistic and I was easily able to save the performance to an MP3 for all of the band members to review the songs we had composed and performed.

Next, we recorded some live interviews that aired on GuitarJamDaily with great results.  Since this was on the fly, the internal mics were once again the logical choice.  FYI: they were the 3 interviews that our own Scotty X did with Brad Whitford, Eric Gales, and Doyle Bramhall II.  So go check it out for yourself and hear the excellent results.

The third test of the Zoom H4 was to hook up some external mics and record a high-quality acoustic guitar track.  I was very pleased with the results, and could definitely blend the track with a full mix of other instruments without any reservations.  Was it as good as my full-on studio-recording rig?  Of course not, but the gap has been narrowed. 

Here are a few more tidbits about the Zoom H4.  Unlike many other similar units, the battery life is not an issue.  As far as navigating within the H4, it is a breeze.  The menus are laid out in an extremely logical fashion and very easy to read.  As a matter of fact one of the H4 contains one of the most clear and concise menu and sub-menu set-ups that I’ve recently come across. 

In terms of ergonomics, the Jog Shuttle Wheel is perfect for your thumb.  It is not hard to access and is not overly sensitive. The weight and size of the unit are perfect for easy handling and operation. The LCD display is clear with nice sized fonts.  I was able to view all the menus and info even in a dark rehearsal room.  Editing of files and tracks were a breeze. Transferring files to the computer was hassle-free.  The manual was extremely and clearly laid out allowing me to find a couple of key paragraphs in the manual to really know my way around this unit.  For me the less manual reading I do the better…

So, if you are a busy mobile musician on a tight budget, this bad boy is a must have.  Simplicity, quality and usefulness are the name of the game with the Zoom H4.





 
ADVERTISEMENT

Daily Video Lesson

Daily Video Lesson
  • 02:41 - 01.10.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    A five week long, cross-country tour featuring some of the best known and most respected figures in rock and blues has been set to celebrate the legacy and music of Jimi Hendrix. Presented by Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., the Hendrix family-owned company founded by James A. “Al” Hendrix, Jimi’s father, entrusted with preserving and protecting the legacy of Jimi Hendrix together with musical instrument giant Gibson Guitar, this year’s Experience Hendrix Tour represents a dramatic expansion beyond last year’s seven sold out performances.

    Featured artists who will be performing music written by and associated with Jimi Hendrix include blues giant Buddy Guy, contemporary guitar greats Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas and David Hidalgo of Los Lobos as well as Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford.
    Read more...
  • 01:53 - 26.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) and Italian distributor M.Casale Bauer proudly announce the grand opening of the Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy. It is the third such international exclusive Fender guitar destination, joining the elite Fender Custom Shop Lounge (Düsseldorf, Germany) and Fender Showcase Tokyo (Japan).

    The Fender Custom Shop Showcase Italy is in Bologna, Italy, and is housed in a building by California-born Italian designer Gretchen Alexander. The showroom is located near the offices of M. Casale Bauer, Fender’s Italian distributor since 1962, and was created to provide Fender dealers, their special guests and artists with a comfortable place to find, try and buy some of the most beautiful guitars in today’s market. The showcase features an impressive array of high-end guitars crafted by the master builders of the Fender Custom Shop and provides artists and dealers (and their VIP clients) with access to some of the most unique high-end Fender instruments ever made available in one place. The showroom houses an unparalleled selection of Fender Custom Shop instruments, as well as Bauer’s personal collection, one of the largest and most valuable in the world.
    Read more...
  • 03:41 - 23.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Los Angeles, CA – World-renowned Australian guitarist Tommy Emmanuel will  release Center Stage, a live concert DVD on October 14th via Favored Nations Acoustic.  
     
    The full-length concert DVD follows the recent release of the Center Stage  double CD, both having been recorded live for the PBS television series “Sierra Center Stage.” Filmed in eye-catching high definition, every element of modern technology was used in production, creating a stunning package, both aurally
    and visually. 
    Read more...
  • 00:09 - 19.09.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    Montreal, Canada- September 16th, 2008: Renowned guitarist Daryl Stuermer will be giving Godin Performance Clinics in and around Quebec and Eastern Ontario from September 29th to October 3rd 2008.

    Having performed in studio and toured the world with both Phil Collins and supergroup Genesis for years, Daryl is a player who is on top of his game and has the chops to prove it. Performing as the Daryl Stuermer Duo, he will be accompanied by keyboardist Konstantin Efimov during the clinics and will also be giving attendees his perspective on playing live, recording, technique, and his gear, by fielding a Q&A session after each performance.
    Read more...
  • 09:29 - 03.06.2008 Spotlight >> Spotlight
    SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (June 2, 2008) -- Fender Musical Instruments Corporation (FMIC) announced today that it has acquired certain assets of Groove Tubes LLC. Among other assets, FMIC purchased the Groove Tubes brand. Groove Tubes company founder Aspen Pittman will continue in a consulting role.
    Read more...